Books to make you laugh out loud

FANCY A LAUGH?

My BOOKS ARE AVAILABLE TO ORDER FROM ALL GOOD BOOKSHOPS OR ON AMAZON. ALSO AVAILABLE FOR KINDLE, KOBO OR FROM iTUNES.

FURTHER DETAILS CAN BE FOUND ON MY WEBSITE www.carolewyer.co.uk

* * * * *

LIFE SWAP little imageLife Swap – A funny feel good read about starting over again

She wanted a new life and true love. Be careful what you wish for …

Handsome prince, beautiful house, fabulous job? Polly has none of these. All she has to her name is a string of failed relationships and she’s up to her ears in debt. She sees herself as a hopeless case and would do anything to change her luck.

Simon is approaching the big 50. He’s off his game at work, his kids don’t seem to notice he exists and his wife seems to think he’s made of money. As for sex …what’s that?

So when the opportunity comes for both of them to swap their lives for a life of luxury, they jump at the chance. For Simon a life of helicopters, fast cars and hot babes beckons. For Polly, it’s all diamonds, spa days and celebrity parties. Now all that’s missing from her life is a bit of romance. Can handsome stranger Matt step up?

Trouble is, the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. Can the life you’ve always dreamed of get in the way of true love?

A witty, heart warming read, perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Carole Matthews.

Publication date April 22nd 2016 by Bookouture

Purchase your copy HERE

* * * * *

JPEGFINALGOBFRONT COVERVSMALL
Grumpies on Board

Finalist for The People’s Book Prize Award 2016

*

A “book it” list like no other, with humorous suggestions for extreme active ageing trips and why grumpies should not go snuffle trunting.

*

Fancy a holiday with a difference? Then pack your bags and get ready for some extreme active ageing. Us ‘older’ folk are heading away from the traditional hotel holiday and at last, having fun!

This humorous guide, compiled by Mr and Mrs Grumpy, offers alternatives to the usual holiday—from sensible to outrageous—to suit every grumpy guts.

Learn about Arctic boot camps, ayurvedic retreats, drumming holidays, ice blokarting, motoring experiences, skijorking, tubing, Vespa excursions, voodoo trips and discover why Mr Grumpy will never go truffle hunting again.

With over 300 suggestions of how to get the best out of your vacation and live life to the maximum, this book aims to inspire and entertain.

Read it and put some choices on your “book it” list. After all, you only live once!

“Wyer catalogues a genuinely interesting and inspiring collection of mature holidaymakers’ experiences, ranging from the sublimely relaxing to the downright dangerous.”
-The Lady

Published by Delancey Press

* * * * *

grumpyoldmenopausevsmall
Grumpy Old Menopause

Winner of The People’s Book Prize Award for Non Fiction 2015

Grumpy Old Menopause
To be administered in one large dose for maximum effect

Have you started to write post-it notes with your kids’ names on them? Do you need to change your underwear after every sneeze? Guess it’s time to read this book then. It’ll help you get through “that” time in your life with a spring in your step and a smile on your face.

With numerous suggestions, sensible advice and amusing anecdotes, Grumpy Old Menopause will help you sail through that tricky part of a woman’s life with ease and humour. It should prevent you from turning into Mrs Crabby or worse still, a demonic monster.

“An excellent mix of humour and sound advice. This book is a must-read for all women … I highly recommend Grumpy Old Menopause. It is the perfect blend of humour and excellent advice to help all women sail through the menopause.” – Nicky Snazell, Fi STOP Consultant Physiotherapist in Spinal Pain, Fellow of Institute for the Study and Treatment of Pain. International Lecturer in Pain and Health

Published by Delancey Press

* * * * *

Love Hurts KindleLove Hurts

Love does not always result in ‘happy ever after’. It is a powerful emotion that, in the hands of a damaged soul, can be all-consuming, dangerous and even lethal.

In this collection of short stories—some dark, some light-hearted—written by award-winning Carol E. Wyer, we discover what happens when love takes over.

Be prepared for a rollercoaster of emotions.

Love Hurts looks at how the very many facets of love make people react and the consequences of those reactions: sometimes joyful, sometimes…not. Each story is very different but equally delightful, and I defy anyone to not enjoy this quintet.” – Cath ‘n’ Kindle reviews

***As heard read out on BBC Radio Derby***

Published on Amazon

* * * * *

justaddspicevsmall

Just Add Spice

What happens when reality and fiction merge?

Dawn Ellis needs to escape from her painfully dull existence. Her unemployed husband spends all day complaining about life, moping around, or fixing lawnmowers on her kitchen table. The local writing class proves to be an adequate distraction with its eccentric collection of wannabe authors and, of course, the enigmatic Jason, who soon shows a romantic interest in her.

Dawn pours her inner frustrations into her first novel about the extraordinary exploits of Cinnamon Knight, an avenging angel — a woman who doesn’t believe in following the rules. Cinnamon is ruthless and wanton, inflicting suffering on any man who warrants it. Little does Dawn realise that soon the line between reality and fiction will blur. Her own life will be transformed, and those close to her will pay the price. Find out what happens in Just Add Spice by best-selling author Carol E Wyer.

Published by Delancey Press

* * * * *

hownottomurderyourgrumpyvsmall

How Not to Murder Your Grumpy

Before you push your Grumpy off the next bridge,

Look no further!

Do you live with a grumpy old man? Does he chunter about pot holes, the failing economy and the weather all day, then zap through all the television channels at night, never pausing long enough to watch anything? Is your chap wrestling with the idea of retirement, or has he begun to get under your feet?

Well, look no further, for this little book could save your sanity. It offers innovative and amusing ways of keeping your curmudgeon occupied and out of your way.

Instantly transform your grump into a more content human being. No magic, no tricks, just 700 suggestions and amusing ways to cajole your GOM into a new activity or, indeed, to keep you chuckling.

This book is perfect for every person who lives with a grumpy old man. It will save your sanity and probably your Grumpy’s life.

Remember: a Grumpy is for life, not just for Christmas.

Published by Delancey Press

*     *     *     *     *

 

surfinginstilettosvsmallSurfing in Stilettos

Go on vacation in style with Surfing in Stilettos

Amanda Wilson is all geared up for an exciting gap-year, travelling across Europe. She soon finds her plans thwarted when she is abandoned in France with only a cellarful of Chateau Plonk, a large, orange Space Hopper, and Old Ted, the dog, for company.

Fate has intervened to turn Amanda’s life on its head. First, Bertie, the camper van, breaks down. Then her dopey son, Tom, who is staying in their house in the UK, is wrecking it, one piece at a time. Next, the jaw-dropping video Skype calls that her irrepressible mother insists on making are, by contrast, making Amanda’s humdrum trip even less palatable.

Finally, she discovers that her new-found, French friend, Bibi Chevalier, had engineered a plan to ensure that her philandering husband would never stray again; unfortunately, Amanda is unwittingly drawn into the scheme, becoming a target.

Meanwhile, on a beach in Sydney, a lonely Todd Bradshaw realises that his first true love, Amanda Wilson, is definitely the only woman for him. Can he get back into her good books and hopefully back into her arms with his latest plan? Or will fate intervene yet again and turn everyone’s lives upside down?

Published by Delancey Press

*     *     *     *     *

miniskirtsandlaughterlinesvsmallMini Skirts and Laughter Lines

Start your own blog about your secret life

Amanda Wilson can’t decide between murder, insanity and another glass of red wine. Facing 50 and all that it entails is problematic enough. What’s the point in minking your eyes, when your husband would rather watch ‘Russia Today’ than admire you, strutting in front of the television in only thigh boots and a thong?

Her son has managed to perform yet another magical disappearing act. Could he actually be buried under the mountain of festering washing which is strewn on his bedroom floor? He’ll certainly be buried somewhere when she next gets her hands on him.

At least her mother knows how to enjoy herself. She’s partying her twilight years away in Cyprus. Queen of the Twister mat, she now has a toy boy in tow.

She really shouldn’t have pressed that send button. The past always catches up with you sooner or later. Still, her colourful past is a welcome relief to her monochrome present; especially when it comes in the shape of provocative Todd Bradshaw, her first true love.

Soon Mandy has a difficult decision to make; one that will require more than a few glasses of Chianti.

Published by Delancey Press

*     *     *     *     *

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s